Whisper Prayers

“Mommy, would you pray for me?”  It was the soft voice of my daughter waking me.

We put our arms around one another and bowed our heads, and I whispered a prayer in her ear.  I could smell her hair, and feel the softness of her cheek…my lovely daughter.

Father God, thank you for my precious girl, my blessing.  Thank you for giving her life in you, and for helping her to learn and grow in your word.  Father, please help her to trust in You, and to cast her cares upon You…to not fear.  She is safe in Your care, and You love her so much that You sent Your Son to die for her.  She belongs to You.  Please grace her life with strength and a only a holy fear…take away all other fears…and cause her to see that she can trust in You.

Fear of the dark, the night, and the unknown.  I remember feeling that way as a little girl…petrified.  I would hug my stuffed animals, and place them all around me, and then sing songs quietly.  As I grew, my nightmares changed…they were memories, terrors.   I prayed and ask God to help me.  I quoted scripture in my mind until I drifted to sleep.  I am still learning to trust and fear Him only.

Fears and doubts are deceptive, but God’s word is true.  He is with me.  She is also learning this lesson.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

“Mommy, God is helping me…He is reminding me to pray, sing, and say my verses.”   She grins a  wide grin.  “Look how clean my teeth are!”  They were  clean.  Bedtime was here again.  She was preparing herself.  Her pink night gown matched her little pink toes…so young.  I said a silent prayer.  “Give her peace in You tonight, Father.”   As I watched her kiss and hug daddy goodnight, I wondered if she would wake me again to whisper prayers for her.

The Lord bless all who read here.

~ by dyingtoproduce on July 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
