Losing Life

 
I don’t know the title of this poem, or who wrote it. I borrowed it from Mrs. Byrd’s profile today.
 

The world, I thought, belonged to me –

Goods, gold and, people, land and sea –

Where’er I walked beneath God’s sky.

In those old days, my word was “I.”

Years passed: there flashed my pathway near

The fragment of a vision dear;

My former word no more sufficed,

And what I said was – “I and Christ.”

But, O, the more I looked on Him

His glory grew, while mine grew dim;

I shrank so small, He towered so high,

All I dared say was – “Christ and I.”

Years more the vision held its place

And looked me steadily in the face;

I speak now in a humbler tone,

And what I say is – “Christ alone.”

“He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.” Matthew 10:39

~ by dyingtoproduce on July 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
