A Mother Revealed

Longing to please God.
Motherhood.
Overwhelmed.
Repeatedly doing things in my own strength.  

Frustrated with my own sin. Neglecting to increase in the knowledge of the Lord.  Just do good works in His power alone.

Colossians 1: 10 That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; 11 Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness

God is gracious.   He uses my failure to accomplish His will.   Humble me.  Teach me.  Draw me nearer.   I hate my own hardness and pride.   It’s a pitfall of desctruction.  I long for a heart filled only with God’s love.  I want to be the image of Christ daily to all….to my family.  My prayer, continue to reveal my lurking sin, and plant your word…help me bear fruit.

Some days I practice love’s opposites.  Anger.  Pride. Unkindness.  Keeping fault records.  It’s contagious and discouraging.   Just fear the Lord and walk in love.

A mother governs.  She has the authority to go to battle.   Where did I lay my spiritual armor, my sword?   Find it!  Put it on!  Slay the dragons!  Forgive me, Father, for the times when I’m not prepared.  Bless me with grace, strength, and light my way.

Michael wakes us before the sun for breakfast…scripture and prayer.  New mercies.  It’s a blessing to feast on God, to be together as a family…to whisper soft early morning prayers together in the circle of hands. 

God bless all who read.

~ by dyingtoproduce on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
